Table of Contents

The Acceptance Stage of Grief

The acceptance stage of grief sets in when the anger, sadness and mourning have narrowed down off. The person simply accepts the reality of the loss and tries to move on, getting some normalcy back in life. Reaching the acceptance stage of grief is not so simple. Wit the sudden death and loss, one may never see beyond the anger or denial.

Acceptance stage of grief should not be looked upon as a sign of bravery. As this phase is marked by withdrawal and calm, it is definitely not a period of happiness and must be differentiated from depression. The acceptance stage is often confused with the person being ok with what has happened. This is not the case at all. Nobody is ok about losing some close or a loved one. This stage is more about accepting the reality that one is never going to see their loved one and coming to terms with the new permanent reality. Although we will never like this reality or make it look ok, but eventually we accept it.

We learn to live now in a world where our loved one is missing. In the acceptance stage of grief, many people try to go back to their old like as it was before a loved one died. In time, however, one can see that it is not possible to simply keep the past intact. It has been changed forever and we must readjust, reorganizing roles and re-assigning them to others.

As we begin to live again and enjoy our life, we often feel guilty of betraying our loved one. No one can replace what we have lost, but we can always make new beginnings. Instead of rejecting our emotions and feelings, we should listen to them as we move on. We may start reaching out to others and get involved in their lives. We can always invest in new friendships and in our relationship with ourselves. We can start living again but until we have given our grief its due time. Just pass through the acceptance stage of grief with the right emotions.

Latest Editorials

Seek Professional Help for Grief

Know when you need professional help for grief in case the grief gets worse. Seek professional help to start moving on in life after losing someone.
See Full Article »

Understand the Denial Stage of Grief

Recognize the denial stage of grief with emotions of “this can’t be happening to me.” Learn to cope with the denial stage of grief to heal in time.
See Full Article »

Ways to Take Care Of Yourself First

Learn how to take care of yourself when coping with grief. Take care of yourself first looking after your emotional health and physical needs.
See Full Article »

Find Grief Support Groups

Find grief support on losing someone and learn to survive grief. Take help form online grief support groups and join grief support group activities.
See Full Article »